h1

Summer Poncho

November 27, 2008

poncho-topponcho-top-side-view

I have been looking at this Poncho pattern in the “Enid Gilchirst” book for a week and this fabric seem just the right pick for it.  I had to play around with the sizing as the pattern was for 7-9 year olds. My first attempt was too small for Tia and this one is the second go.  The pattern  has a draw string neck design that ties at the back, I modified mine by adding a bais binding trim and a “u” shape at the front neck line. This allows it to fit over various sized heads and still allows them to self dress … because they are “big girls”.   It’s a simple top, I think a pocket and the bais binding around the sleeves will be added to the next one.

xx Frankie

One comment

  1. Love the poncho 🙂 I made one in vintage terry towel for dd1. I like your version in cotton makes a nice top.



Leave a Reply

